S/S09 Casual

Okay let me preface this with the fact that I know absolutely minimal information about what the buzz is about trends in S/S09 Menswear. I went through all of the images and just sort of picked out the looks that I liked and some of the trends that I picked up on. I assure you that there are probably a ton of trends that I missed because, as I said, I’m not exactly sure what to look for. A few of the things that I noticed are: vertical, diagonal, and horizontal stripes (I’m partial to the diagonal), military styles are around though less prominent, big buttons on sweaters, and a lot of contrasting colors on the seams/around the edges. I also realize the the Fall/Winter 09 shows have already kicked off in Milan, which prompted me to get my bootay into gear and get this post done. A lot of these images are going to require a closer look to see what I’m talking about, but I’ll touch on some of my favorite things. The categories I’ve put these in are Casual, Dressy Casual, Suits, Accented Seams, Military, Stripes, and last but certainly not least Craziness. Simply because of the sheer size of this, I’m going to break this up into smaller posts on specific sections. So let’s kick this off with the Casual:

Casual #1

I’ll touch on some of my favorites in these shots. Starting it off from agnes b, I was really liking how she used the green-patterned shirt underneath the jacket. It really made that look pop and jump out at me. Next, the innovative zippers by Emporio Armani really gave a basic leather jacket that little bit extra. Note the nice shine texture to the pants as that’s still around. Now, like the agnes b look, the Evisu look here with the nice lure on the sweater and the green underneath that jumps out. Great for sitting on the dock of the bay…I hope that’s a Snoopy fishing rod. The main piece of the Hermes shot that I liked was mainly to show the strappy sandals. I saw a lot of strappy sandals and you can actually pick up a pair of excellent strappy sandals from J’s called the J’s Men’s Belt Sandals. They feature a set of prim toes for you to adjust to your skin color. They’re only L$280 for 6 different colored straps. Last on this image, but starting off the next one, are some of my favorites from Iceberg. I can 100% honestly say that if I could live in the menswear of any designer it would be Iceberg. Perry Ellis is a close second, but Iceberg really just hits me hard. I pulled off a lot of images from them.

Casual #2

As I said before, Iceberg Iceberg Iceberg, love it! The next 4 shots after Iceberg feature something to watch on the runways that I didn’t pick up initially, but notice how they all have the rolled cuffs. I also really really like that Lanvin sweater with the elbow patches. It takes something that naturally would feel very old school, but brings it up to that next level. Also note the diagonal stripes on the tie. The Kris Van Assche shot mainly demonstrates what I’d love to see in a bold pair of boardshorts in SL. The two Lacoste shots were just really excellent pieces. Just looking at them makes me feel calm, cool, and collected (like the Eugene song). The Lanvin shot is also in there as another reference to those strappy sandals.

Casual #3

The third and final collection of casual attire starts with a really really cool tee. I love how the electricity of the blue and red of the graphic play off of each other with the stark contrast of the dark gray tee. Despite the fact that this guy reminds me of Animal from the Muppets, his look, as well as the three from Perry Ellis, really hits the same spot as the Lacoste looks before. I love the Roberto Cavalli look there. It’s almost like something you would wear on a cross-country trek. Rock & Republic bring back the acid washed jeans in skinny style. I’m not a big skinny jean fan because of A) a little tight RL and B) there’s no way that they’d work on my bigger more athletically-shaped av. I love the stark contrast that the jeans provide in this look. Simply as an FYI Audrina Patridge, of The Hills “fame”, is in a new ad for Divine Rights of Denim in acid-washed jeans…I have a feeling they might be on their way back. Again, here we have the strappy sandals on the Salvatore Ferragamo look and really liking that sweater.

I think a lot of these could be implemented into SL. And that’s not saying, “DESIGNERS GO COPY THESE” because everybody has their own flavor that bring to the table. I think these would be some nice spices to add to your recipes is all. Alright the first one is down. Coming up tomorrow, I’ll give you my picks on the Dressy Casual looks and Suits that I’m really feeling.

2 Comments

Filed under Casual, Fashion, Opinion

2 responses to “S/S09 Casual

  1. Pingback: Too Obvious « Oscaresque Fashion Sense in a Second World

  2. Howdy I sumbled upon this website by accident, I was flipping through Google for Designer Fashion when I came upon your webpage, I must say your site is really intriguing I truely think the layout, its astounding!. I’m strapped for time at the moment to fully read your blog but I have bookmarked it and also subscribed for your RSS feeds. I will be back when I free up some time. Bravo for a great website.

Leave a Reply

