S/S09 Dressy Casual

Alright alright! Two posts in two days. Don’t get used to it because I’m not! lol Moving right along in this series we have my favorite Dressy Casual looks from the Spring/Summer 09 fashion shows. Now, as I go through all of these understand that some of these attire categories are going to crossover to the trends and vice versa. Alright enough talky talk. The second attire category I’m touching on in this series is Dressy Casual. Let’s get to the pix!

Dressy Casual #1

Starting it off here again we have a look from agnes b. I love the clean lines on this outfit. This sort of clean style that I like also shows up in the Cerruti outfit if you hop over Alexander McQueen (don’t worry we’ll come back for him). These two clean looks really bring back in my memory some of the more “Golden Years” of US in the 1950s. That sort of Richie Cunningham/Happy Days (congrats Ron Howard on the Oscar nomination) appeal if you will. And we’re back to Alexander and jumping over to D&G. The one thing I noticed that I liked was items, whether they are sweaters or jackets, that were overall pretty plain but with that extra touch that set them up on the next level. For the Alexander McQueen jacket is a cigarette smoke plume dancing elegantly from one side of the jacket to the other and for the D&G it’s the small six-shooter center piece (almost reminiscent of the gun that Michael uses to kill Sollozzo in the Godfather Part I). I love the bow tie too. Moving right along we have almost a collegiate professor look from DSquared2…if your college professor was in his 20s and really into fashion. The look is really eclectic, but somehow pulls it all together. Although I’m not a huge fan of how the pink lighting affects the color on the two from Emanuel Ungaro, the looks are the classic blazer/button up shirt/jean combo that’s very prevalent these days from the bars to the first dates. Last, but certainly not least, is this amazing casual suit from Etro. It’s very reminiscent of something that you might see at Meriken in-world. I love the green & brown tartan print that’s present, but doesn’t full takeover the entire look. I have a pair of nice dress pants IRL that are gray with a blue outlined tartan print on them and they’re one of my favorites. In the Dressy Casual category that suit is probably my favorite and those shoes…oh man those shoes are just killer.

Dressy Casual #2

Starting off this second set of Dressy Casual is Fendi. I liked this look, and a lot of the looks in Fendi, for the very intelligent use of shine fabrics. I believe while looking through all of these images I dubbed Fendi the Ryan Darragh collection because they just fit his style so perfectly. There are three more looks coming from Fendi in the Suits section I’ll be touching on in my next post, so hold your horses or fast forward to them. Next up we’ve got a double shot of Giorgio Armani. I chose these two because it demonstrates something coming to the runways with a lot of suit separates. I also just love the color on these two. You can pick up a blazer that’s very similar in color and material to the blue at Hoorenbeek. It’s the Velvet jacket in Blue and it’s L$520 for a single (L$945 full pack of 4). Down the line, we have Givenchy with the wide collar shirt and somewhat channeling Josh Hartnett in their look. The following Kris Van Assche look is on there for that little black accessory on breast of the jacket. The jacket really makes the look and what looks like a black synthetic corsage really makes it shine. The final three in the Dressy Casual category all feature ties in different ways. Louis Vuitton attacks the tie in a pretty normal form, but on a pink shirt and using it to further accentuate the accented seams. Rock & Republic tackles the tie in skinny form with somewhat skinny pants as well. The pants are really more between a straight leg & skinny style. Salvatore Ferragamo tucks in the orange tie under a very nice sweater, touching on the fade pattern that was big in charcoal to gray this fall.

I know! I lied! I’ll try to get around to doing the Suits tonight. I guarantee it’s worth the 6 or 8hr wait until I get those done. So next up are Suits!

1 Comment

Filed under Casual, Fashion, Opinion

One response to “S/S09 Dressy Casual

  1. Pingback: Too Obvious « Oscaresque Fashion Sense in a Second World

Leave a Reply

