S/S09 Stripes!

Alright ladies and gents, it’s time to hit the trends that I picked up. First up in that category is the stripes and there were enough to make the zebras in Africa jealous. From Burberry to Y-3 you’ll see stripes in Menswear.

Stripes #1

Appropriately, starting it off here we have a Burberry look with diagonal stripes on a tee. I think diagonal stripes are really where it’s at for this year. You’ll see diagonal stripes in this Burberry and D&G 06, 23, and 26…all in different capacities. The vertical stripes on that vibrant blue suit from D&G are supreme and the diagonal stripes on the shirt next to with paired with the skinny tie are perfect. I don’t think I’d wear that shirt with the mini shorts, but that’s probably why I’m not a D&G stylist. The white look is really cool because it actually touches on two styles. The first is obviously the stripes, but the second is less obvious. All you have to do is note how the chest pockets are crafted to see that it’s actually a military-inspired shirt. I’ll touch on the military-inspired look in an upcoming post. Now in the black suit you may be wondering where the heck the stripes even are, but they’re actually on what seems to be a scarf underneath. It’s just barely showing, but I guarantee they’re there. I’m actually not 100% sure if that’s a scarf or a vest or something else, but I know that it’s a nice little touch. On this final D&G look you’ve got stripes and accented edges all over the place. The shoes actually remind of a pair that I already own in SL from Detour called the Jaywalker Sneakers. Next up is a more classic use of stripes from DSquared2. I love the light cream jacket that he’s wearing with this and again it feels very Sartoria. The last one in this contact sheet is a very subtle use of stripes from Iceberg and I love that blue. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Stripes #2

One of the things that I really like about this first look from Iceberg is the use of stripes underneath. It’s not like the D&G one where the stripes are all up in your face and you can’t escape them. Here they’re simply used to accent the tie with the pocket square color matching the lighter blue from the shirt. Speaking of not being able to hide from the stripes, this Jean-Paul Gaultier look practically stands up and slaps you in the face with them. The one piece from this that I really like is the full-zip sweater. It’s very cool and it gives that deep V-neck feel without forcing you to commit to it. The next three here give you different looks at stripes on polo shirts. John Bartlett’s heather gray polo gives you a more muted version of it, Just Cavalli steps it up a level giving you vertical stripes in a gray scale, and then Lacoste throws reds and oranges in a more contemporary style. The entire look from Marc by Marc actually features a lot of stripes from the layers down the arms, to the bottom of the shirt, to even a very light striped pattern on the pants. Now, the look from Moschino…well I’m not sure why I picked it, but the whole appeal of this is very cool. It almost feels like something you would see at a Sex Pistols concert. It gives that sort of London punk scene. Following up the London punk is picnic kid from Moschino. What I like about this is the stripes that run right into the accented edges.

Stripes #3

Alright finishing off the stripes here, we’ve got a couple of different ways from Perry Ellis. Again with the blue (it’s getting to be a theme eh?) and then I like how Perry Ellis used the accented seams on the light lavender shirt to show a v-neck without there actually being one. Thom Browne really did hit us with a v-neck sweater on this one and he threw on some stripes as merits denoting rank on the left arm. Omg! It’s blue again on the Versace! I like how the diagonal stripes are a lot more abstract on this one. They’re there, but subtle. Again with the subtlety of stripes in the double-breasted blazer on the other picture I have in there from Versace. You can barely see them except for in the light. The next is one of my favorite shirts in the stripes category from Vivienne Westwood. I love how the cuffs and collar have that deep berry & white stripes on the edges. It’s something funky and fresh that I could definitely see a designer easily integrating into their product arsenal. Finishing off the stripes are a couple of designs from Y-3. The first is a lot like the Iceberg one before where the stripes are very light accents. I also really like the shine to that green shirt underneath yellowish cream jacket. The last pic we have here is very Back to the Future 80s, but really my favorite part is the shoes. I love that wavy triple stripe over the top of the shoes.

That just about wraps it up for my observations on the Spring/Summer 09 stripes. My next post will be my last post on Spring/Summer 09 fashion. I’ll be covering accented seams, some of the military-inspired clothing, and then a little bit of craziness that really made me laugh. That should be up tomorrow night and conclude my faves from Spring/Summer 09. I hope you guys are enjoying it because it took a lot of time clicking to get all of this. Thankfully I got a new mouse for Christmas. ๐Ÿ˜‰

1 Comment

Filed under Casual, Dressy, Fashion, Opinion

One response to “S/S09 Stripes!

  1. Pingback: Too Obvious « Oscaresque Fashion Sense in a Second World

Leave a Reply

