F/W09 RWB and Donegal Tweed

Alright ladies and gentlemen we have another couple of trends that were burning up the runways. The first one I’m going to toss at you is a touch of Americana. OK OK, so maybe there are a bunch of other countries whose flags are red, white, and blue. Call me a big, fat American if you will, but on the runways this fall a few designers hit us with these gems:

F/W09 Red, White, & Blue

Starting off with a bang we’ve got a fantastic sweater from Adam Kimmel. The colors are so clean and vibrant it really stands out in this crowd of other red, white, and blue looks. Honestly, it reminds me a lot of a cardigan sweater I had as a child. I don’t think I have any pictures of me in the sweater and I wouldn’t subject my childhood to the peanut gallery here. 😉 Also in this look the muffler with the cut edges has the colors, but in different hues. It’s a nice little touch to this look.

Next, we get suited up in excellent fashion. Gucci tosses this classic power suit at us with very clean lines and a shirt and tie to lighten it up a little. I obviously don’t mean that it’s lightened up color-wise, but more in having some fun. The banker white colored shirt and the checked pattern definitely pop out in this look as well as the shine texture to the tie.

Strolling in now, we’ve got a couple of looks put forth by Iceberg. In the first look, well…we’re missing the white, but the red and blue are there! That’s actually why I did throw this one in because I love how the red and blue announce themselves on the scarf. It’s almost like a red-winged blackbird how the color stands out in this look. That right there really forced my hand in putting in this look into this group. Also, in this first look I adore the intricacy of the detail put into those shoes. The second look from Iceberg is definitely more on the casual side of things. I love the big, red neck on the turtleneck portion of this and those clean, white Velcro shoes are excellent as well.

Moving to the bottom, we’ve got this awesome sweater from Michael Bastian. It’s in the same category as the Adam Kimmel sweater right above it. However, this sweater has a nice shawl collar to it and a much busier Native American pattern to it with the two chiefs and teepees.

Coming up next we’ve got a couple of looks from Moschino. I love the regal appeal of the first one from Moschino. It’s definitely a step back into time with the bowler hat atop and the crisp cut and feel of the navy blazer. Where the Gucci look had a lot of fun, this Moschino look has a lot less. The only fun you get out of this look is the diagonal stripe to the tie. Speaking of fun, the other look from Moschino that I have in this red, white and blue trend is this awesome blazer, tie, and shirt combo. I love how from the waist up that it’s very busy and pops against the very reserved pants and shoes.

The last look in this group is simply a scarf that really did it for me. I really like how Yohji worked this into the sporty feel of Y-3. The way that they tied up the sweater around the neck like an intricate pretzel is just awesome and really adds to the casual feel of this entire look.

F/W09 Salt & Pepper #1

Donegal tweed hit the runways HARD in the F/W09 shows this year. There was a flash of it in almost every collection this season and here are some of my favorite looks from it.

Starting it off we’ve got a fantastic coat from Alessandro Dell’Acqua. I love the black fabric accents and the solid gray sleeves on this. It almost feels as if the coat is a vest with a collar. I’m also a big fan of the light shine to those slacks with the cuffs on the bottom. It’s a very dressy casual fall style on this. The pants may take it a little out of that realm, but overall it still has that feel.

This next look from Bottega Veneta also comes with that same feel, but the shine on those pants are a bit too high to wear to your local coffee shop. I’ve always been a fan of the light collared shirt under the sweater and they did something interesting here. Usually when the collared shirt is underneath you’ll have a V-neck sweater, but on this they used it on a crew neck.

Coming through now, we’ve got a couple of looks from two different Armani collections. The first here is a very casual look from Emporio Armani. I love the look and feel of that coat along with the newsboy hat in a brown version of that same salt and pepper feel. This look is for sure my favorite in the group mainly because I can envision myself wearing that down the streets of a snowy New York City, even if I do live in middle America.

The other look from Giorgio Armani definitely has that more regal, affluent feel to it. The salt and pepper relaxed blazer with that vest underneath are perfectly paired up. I also like how the pocket square helps to tie the jacket into the overall look. It’s a very nice touch indeed.

The following look is probably the most mixed up in terms of the patterns. You’ve got your full suit of donegal tweed, diagonal strips on the tie, dotted multi-color shirt with a banker white collar, and red/white/black slip on shoes. When you read that you would think that the look would be WAY too busy, but somehow Gucci pulled it off where it doesn’t look all that overly busy. It definitely leans toward the busy side, but, in my opinion, it didn’t break over that threshold of too busy.

The last one in this group from Iceberg falls right between the Bottega Veneta and Emporio Armani looks. You’ve got your low shine the pleated dress slacks and then that donegal tweed look in a knitted pea coat. My favorite in this though is the blue, knitted, loose turtleneck sweater. A younger dad could definitely pull that off on the sidelines of a brisk, cool day for their kid’s soccer game.

F/W09 Salt & Pepper #2

Starting it off on this second set we’ve got this great clean and sleek look from Jil Sander. I like this clean look and how it really makes the donegal tweed style the central piece of the entire look. They didn’t add anything amazingly flashy to run with it. The salt and pepper is the statement of fashionability in itself.

Michael Bastian tossed his cap into the ring on this group as well. This fantastic, sporty look I really like the double pocket on the jacket and those blue fingerless gloves are awesome as well. You can’t really tell if they’re connected to the full-zip underneath or not, but I would assume that they’re simply complementary to the full-zip.

Now, we’ve got another classic Michael Kors look. Salt and pepper not only works its way along the jacket, but also the turtleneck sweater as well. My favorite part of this is actually something very simple: buttons on the inside of the coat. Often buttons are a great accent, but when you can hide them inside and make the look even cleaner it’s excellent.

Next on the palette of donegal tweed we’ve got this jacket from Neil Barrett. The first thing that’s great about this is how Neil breaks it up with the rest of the coat being a deep black with the salt and pepper fabric shining through. Then he goes and allows you to break it apart and use it as a scarf. Form and function work perfectly hand-in-hand on this coat and I think it’s awesome. Those shoes are pretty cool too. 😉

One of the designers that really caught my eye in all of the Fall/Winter 09 shows that hit the runways was Trussardi 1911. I don’t know what it was about their looks, but they really just hit that spot for me. I like how the grays play off of each other in this look and, same as the jacket from Michael Bastian above it, has the double right-side pocket. It is very business attire oriented with great class.

Finishing off this post we’ve got a great salt and pepper stole from Victor Glemaud. I really like the casual appeal to this look and note that across the board on the bottom there’s either a hem to the cuff of the pants or they’re rolled up. A lot of designers were doing this in menswear for this season.

That wraps up this post. I hope you all enjoyed this. I’ve got about 6 other topics to cover, so I’ll try to bust through them as my schedule is much more open this week. Thanks everybody and up next I’ll cover the military influences, layered colors, and newsboy hats that lit up the runways.

1 Comment

Filed under Casual, Dressy, Fashion, Opinion

One response to “F/W09 RWB and Donegal Tweed

  1. First pic – I want to make sweet love to those 2 Moschino suits, that red blazer esepsh.

    Second lot – That Armani and the Iceberg please. I want to see someone who can cut like Armani in SL, but that’s impossible the way clothes hug the body at the moment.

    Third pic – That Sander… I dunno, Page. It’s a very femme shape. I like the swing length of the Kors and the layering on the Glemaud better.

    Thanks for the round up, I always look forward to when you do these.

Leave a Reply

