F/W09 Suits!

Ladies and…wait…Gentlemen and Gentlemen, it’s time to get suited up! Much like my previous post this one will be much more about the pictures than what I have to say about them. So without boring the crap out of you, here’s what I’ve got!

F/W09 Suits #1

Alexander McQueen set out on a mission to bring across this early 19th century feel to his collection and he definitely hit the mark. I feel like these two guys could be in the same gang where the one on the left is the boss and then the one on the right is the young enforcer. I love the pattern on the enforcer’s suit and those fingerless gloves on the boss are fantastic as well. Calvin Klein hit us with a great suit here. The color and power of that blue suit absolutely shines right through. The model almost feels like Clark Kent walking down the street and at any moment he could hop into a phone booth and turn in Superman. My other two faves from this group are straight down from the Alexander McQueen ones. These two looks from D&G are excellent. I love the double pocket on the one blazer and that fantastic quilted pattern on the other one. The crushed velvet appeal of those pants with the quilted blazer is really great as well.

F/W09 Suits #2

The first image I like out of this group is the suit from Hermès. The clean lines and subtle shine really make this a great classic look. What takes it to the next level is that it only has two buttons total on the blazer and that shine scarf as more of an accentual piece than being what the entire look is about. The second one that I’m feeling out of this is that great looking suit from Jean Paul Gaultier. It’s almost reminiscent of a zoot suit. Jean Paul Gaultier hit the runways with a whole lot of afros and these military style suspenders. He really hit the mark for me with this look and that black-and-white striped skinny tie really adds to this look. Again, for the love of the updated classics, I really liked the suit from Loewe. The dark mauve bow tie on the deeper purple shirt with that nice, thick scarf really put this ahead of the rest. The last of my faves from this group comes from a designer whose entire collection I really dug, PLUS he used a one-man-band for the music of his show. How awesome is that? Miharayasuhiro came out with a really great F/W09 collection and this suit is just one of the many splendors of his show. I strong suggest checking out his entire collection because there are so many pieces from so many different influences all brought to together for his looks.

F/W09 Suits #3

Honestly, picking out a favorite in this group would be like picking which amazing supermodel I’d like to marry. They’re all so amazing, so I’ll touch on what I love most from each of them really quickly. The Raf Simons suit is very classic with that shine to it and those kicks are just awesome. For the Rag & Bone suit, I really like the accented edges and how well they crafted the layering in that suit. The first suit from Salvatore Ferragamo is really just awesome on all levels. It’s one of those pieces that really transcend the group where it could be dressed up very well and dressed down just as well. I am in awe of the versatility of that suit. The second suit from the Italian designer is almost as good as the first. Again, it’s a one-button blazer and that clean light gray look is just tip top. Again with Salvatore Ferragamo I love the clean lines on this suit and that camel colored shirt underneath accented by the off-center bow tie. The last one in the Ferragamo group here I picked because of the great use of color. It’s a very studious look and the sheer, pale violet, deep v-neck sweater really sets it off. Z Zegna gave us that same sort of look as the one before it, but in a much more formal form. I love that sheen feel to the shirt and tie underneath delicately playing off of the light. Last, but certainly not least is this black on black on black on black on…you get the point look from Z Zegna. What I love about this look that a lot of designers understand is that if you’re going to pull this off you have to mix up the materials and shine levels in the layers to set them apart.

F/W09 Shawl Collar Suits

The final thing I wanted to kick out there was these shawl collar suits. I have to say that I absolutely love this wrinkle in suits. Not a lot of designers took the risk to throw these out there for F/W09, but I give mad props to the ones that did. The shawl collars are just about everywhere, most notably in sweaters lately, but bringing it into these suits is absolutely brilliant. Now, these are nothing NEW new…I mean shawl collar suits were all the rage back in the 70’s, but updating them and bringing them out in this fashion is just awesome and I had to give kudos to those that used it effectively. Thus, I raise a glass to you Miharayasuhiro, Shipley & Halmos, and Versace for these superb suits.

For my next trick…er…post I’ll hit you guys up with some sweaters, scarves, and a random collage of looks that didn’t really fit into any specific categories that I happened to like to. That will finish off everything that I’ve got from F/W09, so hopefully I’ll have that done and written up very soon. Thanks everybody and happy weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dressy, Fashion, Opinion

Leave a Reply

