Blacken Out The Sun

What the eff? I still have a blog? No friggin way. Lies I tell you, all lies. For many of you who read my blog, it’s summer time, and with the summer comes many things to do outdoors. Now, when adding up the many summer time activities plus not really all that much inspiration to post lately plus the World Cup going on = no post for 3 weeks. Although if you actually follow my blog (the few and the not so proud), it’s not like I blog on a regular basis here. I mean come on. Alright alright, more about summer time and less about my procrastination. So if you’ve crawled out of your deepest, darkest hole to enjoy some sunlight lately, you may have ended up like me at an opening day for my beloved Milwaukee Brewers. What I mean by “ended up like me” is that you completely forgot that the giant, yellow ball in the sky has the capability of turning your pasty, white skin into a gorgeous, freshly-boiled lobster red (screams included and some wear their sunburn with pride). As many in the southern hemisphere know about, I went with a nice black look here to soak up some of those rays and not let it hit my skin. Then again if I were as tan as I am in SL, I really wouldn’t have to worry about it all that much. Ch-check out the look and deets after the jump:

Blacken Out The Sun Collage

This look I put together here sort of just came together out of nowhere. I went on a short, little shopping trip to The Dressing Room and I tried to make an outfit with all of the male items available there. Let’s just say I kind of liked it, but it just didn’t strike the right chord for me (mixed patterns and things that weren’t working together). I went through a few outfits, mixed up some old items in my inventory with some new, and ended up with this.

The main thing within the outfit that I wanted to talk about are the shorts from Zoobong. They’re an excellent set of plaid, roll-cuff shorts and they come in 5 colors. I mainly bought them because I don’t really have all that many pairs of shorts and they’re definitely an update to the scant few that I have. There have been a lot of roll-cuff and crop shorts on the runways for the fashion weeks in Milan (last week) and Paris (this week), so I thought I’d bring a little bit of that to you guys.

Blacken Out The Sun Details

Now, let’s go back and talk about the aforementioned store: The Dressing Room. It’s a really fantastic store with a very small amount of exclusive items. Usually exclusive items are often linked to fairs and charity events, but this store is for the charity of those with not a whole lot in the L$ department. It’s not like your freebie stores where you usually find outdated and lower quality items; these are single color/style, newer designs for very cheap. The only item that I went back to from all of the items I had on from The Dressing Room is the hat, from Glow Studio. The picture on the wall is actually of a woman wearing the hat, but the jaunty hat sizes up nicely for the male head and looks pretty fantastic to boot. Remember when you were a kid and you’d find a discarded bird feather that you just had to run between your fingers? The feathers on this hat absolutely remind me of that feeling. The black plaid texture is nicely executed through the nooks and crannies of sculpted fedora.

Jumping to the top of the photo we’ve got a nice purse, carry-all, bag from CheerNo. All kidding aside (click on the carry-all link), it really is a cool bag from CheerNo. I wouldn’t blog it if it wasn’t. CheerNo has 4 different styles of this new leather bag that I happened to stumble upon after trying to figure out what was new and what was not after they reopened the sim to add new items. The triple stripe and very well crafted extra pieces really make this a great bag. It’s a good accessory item to have in your inventory for whatever pictures you may be taking.

Dropping all the way down to the bottom we have a bracelet from Nelshai. I picked up on this store when I was looking through all of the male fashion blogs (RL and SL) that I follow in my Google Reader. This time the blog post belonged to Galliano Boucher. I’ve always admired his style and creativity bringing the latest and greatest trends from RL fashion editorials and campaigns into SL. Anyway, I saw this new store that he posted about and I thought I’d stroll by to check out what this Nelshai store had to offer. It’s pretty much all accessory-based items, so you’ve got your watches, bracelets, necklaces, etc. What caught my eye was this silver and black leather bracelet. It’s a very simple bracelet, but, to be honest, I’m really a sucker for well-made simple jewelry items. I don’t often do the extremely intricate jewelry pieces, but I do marvel at how creators can get all of those tiny pieces to work together so well.

Okay well that’s all I’ve got for this one. I might spit out a quick one of some looks that I like from the S/S11 shows that I talked about in this post sometime over the weekend, but no promises. Have a great weekend everyone! (Go USA! )

The Rundown
Shirt :: *Muism* – Last Night’s Shirt in Black L$300
Shorts :: Zoobong – Punk Shorts in Black L$220
Shoes :: Hoorenbeek – Dockers Shoes in Black Leather L$520
Hat :: Glow Studio @ The Dressing Room – Black Chic Hat L$65
Bag :: CheerNo – Bag Black/White III L$150
Bracelet :: *Nelshai* – L’Homme in Silver & Black Leather L$275
Piercing :: Hoorenbeek – Piercing #4 L$420 for 21 piercings
Hair :: MADesigns – 2.0 Hair Base L$300 for 3
Skin :: Belleza – Ewan V2 in Tan 11-E L$2,000 single L$5,000 for 4-pack
Eyes :: Poetic Color – Medium Tones in Blue Surf L$200

The Soundtrack
Michael Franti – Sound of Sunshine

M.I.A. – Sunshowers

Dean Martin – Powder Your Face With Sunshine

1 Comment

Filed under Casual, Fashion

One response to “Blacken Out The Sun

  1. nelshai

    Hi, I just discovered your blog and this very post that talks about Nelshai.
    I’d like to thank you for this, both comments about Galliano’s job and my bracelet are really great. Plus you’ve really understood the spirit of this bracelet, sleek that was the idea. So thank you very much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

