Yes… More Black

Or should it be… YES! MORE BLACK! Well, this I guess depends on you and what sort of colors you love. I’ve been all about the blacks lately. My last 2 posts were all black. Well, the scarf on the pea coat from Mr. Poet and a stripe of the shoes from Redgrave were brown, so at least there was some color in there. I can promise you that there will be some browns and blues dominant in my next post, but let’s get into and past this one first:

Yes... More Black #1

Alright, I’ve got a good amount to talk about here although I’ll probably hit you with more words past my second photo as those shots get close-up on the main pieces. (note the back side of the vest in those shots) Anyway, the main thing I wanted to talk about here is this shirt from Guarded Cross. It’s actually a shirt and vest combo shown here with both on the jacket layer. I love the ability to layer clothing on 2.x. It just makes putting the exact look I’m trying to put together so much easier.

Here’s the part where I digress for a reason. I may have mentioned this a while ago, but I do love to read male blogs. My Google Reader is chocked full of menswear blogs both RL and SL. When I see cool things that other guys have on, I normally venture to check out that store to see what other things they have. Sort of like, “Oh those shoes are cool. I wonder if they have them in green. No they don’t, but check this out! I could totally put together a look around this.” That’s kind of what happened here. I went to Guarded Cross to check out the store because Sixx Yangtz posted a different shirt from them here (slightly NSFW). Although as an FYI, I’d strong suggest you turn off your basic shaders if you’re shopping in the actual Guarded Cross store because there’s some sort of blue light in the store that tints all of the pictures on the items. If you don’t want to go through that trouble, you could also just check them out on Marketplace.

Yes... More Black #2

The first shot of the close-ups here has a couple of speaking points. One would be the hair, which is called The Steven from DROT. Doctor Aho has a quality selection of hair and actually since I first bought this he put up 4 new colors with a couple of excellent new brown textures. Personally I went with the black hair, but I actually tinted it darker. One of the new textures he added to his arsenal is a very dark black, called black ice, which is what I would have purchased if I had the option at the time. The other speaking piece in the first photo is the shades. I actually stumbled upon the store these shades came from while poking through a friend’s profile to see if he still had his store up. The name of the place is Gentleman. It kind of feels like the store is half-finished where there seems to be things up, but not set for sale. These shades come with 6 different styles for the lenses, and they’re setup such that the lens is a flat prim and the arms are sculpts.

The last thing to talk about here is the boots from 380. Now, I remember when Froddo Beck had his store TheZoo and 380 was only a line of clothing in his store (I posted one of his outfits back in ’08). Then Froddo up and disappeared for a while, but randomly we heard back from him again around when the 2.x’s started to come out with a collection of these boots. They’re really excellent boots and the textures have really great detail, but not TOO much detail. Sometimes you get items with textures that are just too sharp to almost be real. These boots fall perfectly in that a happy medium between the artistic and realistic.

That’s all I’ve got for this post and, as I mentioned, I’ll have another post coming in the next week or so with a touch of color to it. OH! There is one more thing that’s much like my last post. I sort of jacked up the lighting and pushed my gamma to 2.88 for these shots, so here is a look at what the items look like on the default noon setting.

The Rundown
Shirt :: Guarded Cross – Argyle Shirt L$350
Jeans :: Valiant – Black V003 TwoTone Jeans L$200
Boots :: 380 – Civil Boots in Black Distressed L$560
Shades :: Gentleman – Street Shades L$199
Hair :: DROT – The Steven in Black Ice L$200
Skin :: Belleza – Shawn in Tan Face #11 L$2,000 single

The Soundtrack

Pearl Jam – Spin the Black Circle

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Spread Your Love

Nine Inch Nails – Suck (live)

*Bonus track I just remembered*
Thom Yorke – Black Swan

1 Comment

Filed under Casual, Fashion

One response to “Yes… More Black

  1. Great post. Makes me want to get out there and shop. 🙂

Leave a Reply

